Being involved in a car accident can leave you shaken and mentally impaired. But there are several steps you need to take at the accident.
Often drivers involved in an auto accident simply pull over, check for injuries and gather contact information. But post car accident procedures are specific and may contain legal ramifications many drivers are unaware of. Below you will find an overview of what to do and what not to do if involved in an accident in the state of New Jersey.
Can I leave the scene of a minor car accident?
New Jersey laws state that all parties involved in the car accident needs to remain at the scene of the car accident.
(1) Situation 1: Car accident results in an injury or death
- Fined $2,500-$5,000
- And/or imprisoned for a period of 180 days
- License suspension for one year for the first offense and permanently forfeited for a subsequent offense
(2) Situation 2: Car accident only results in property damage
- Fined $200-$400 for the first offense and $400-$600 for a subsequent offense
- And/or imprisoned for a period of 30 days for the first offense and 30-90 days for a subsequent offense
- License suspension for six months for the first offense and one year for a subsequent offense
What should I do if I damage an unattended vehicle?
You must immediately stop and
(1) Locate and notify the vehicle owner
(2) If you are not able to locate the owner, you must leave a written note with your contact information
(3) Notify the local police department
Do I need to call the police?
(1) You must report any car accident that results in injury, death or property damage in excess of $500.
(2) You must also notify your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Agency within 10 days of an auto accident.
Provide the following information:
- Cause of auto accident
- Conditions then existing
- Persons and vehicles involved
What information should I reveal if I am involved in an auto accident?
*You must also show your license and vehicle’s registration to the following:
- Owner of damaged property
- Drivers involved
- Anyone injured as a result of the auto accident
- Police office
For more information, visit New Jersey’s Department of Transportation
Vreeland Insurance is your community’s New Jersey insurance solution. We provide a wide array of insurance programs, including individual auto insurance, to the Rockaway area — or just about anywhere in Northern New Jersey. One of our specialties is in helping our clients insure their personal automobiles against unforeseen damages and injuries. What’s more, as independent agents, we have access to many insurance companies to get you the best New Jersey auto insurance plan at the most competitive Auto insurance rates in New Jersey.
Our local insurance professionals are standing by, so contact us today. (877) 755-3767